Empty Nesters

Workout- 3 miles

I moved out on my own when I was 18 years old.  I was a new Mom and wanted to be independent and prove that I could do it all on my own and not be a burden to my parents.  Almost exactly 15 years later I moved myself and my two kids back into my parents house after my divorce.  It was supposed to be only for a couple months but here I am a year later and still living there.

What’s it like to be a grown woman living with her parents?  I’m not gonna lie…it’s pretty awesome!  On the average day I get home from work and dinner has been made by either my Mom or Dad.  Which one doesn’t matter because they’re both great cooks.  I literally take my coat off and sit down to eat.  I try to repay this dinner debt by doing the dishes, but more often than not my Mom jumps in and helps.  And anyway- doing the dishes is so simple when you haven’t also cooked the meal!  This has really got me to thinking that those Sister Wives might be on to something.  The rest of my responsibilities around the house are to keep my room and the boys room clean, keep our bathroom clean and do our laundry (rude!).  Occasionally I go the extra mile and vacuum the rest of the house.  It’s a sacrifice  but I somehow manage to power through.

In the words of Miley, “yeah, its pretty cool”.

miley gif

But- all good things must come to an end and the end of this chapter will be Thanksgiving weekend when my boys and I move into our new house.  Its bittersweet.  It been such a nice refuge for me over this past year.  Having the constant companionship and support and friendship has been so precious to me.  I know it has been for my Mom too and even though I am only moving 10 miles away and was that far away for the previous 12 years, it just seems sadder this time.  But- it’s time for the boys to have their own space closer to school and friends and for that matter it will be nice for me to be able to have my friends over also.  No matter how gracious a host is, and trust me my parents are top notch, it is difficult to be a “guest” for such a long time.

I am such a lucky girl that I have such wonderful parents that have helped me out in such a way.  I wouldn’t be able to be where I am in life and in such a great place at this moment without them and I will never be able to repay them for it (until they’re old and need to live with me that is)!!!!

Leave a Reply

