Temporary Failure

I can’t help but feel that I have failed.  I set out to reach a goal of running a half marathon on April 27th, but have completely undertrained and do not feel at all prepared for it.  I decided to drop down to the 5k instead of the half marathon.

This had been the hardest winter of my life without a doubt.  Personal issues, health problems and the weather all contributed… but I still feel like I could’ve worked harder and that’s the worst.   I’m disappointed with myself and have been for a couple months (probably the reason I have not blogged about it).

I know there will be more opportunities to achieve my goal and I already have my sights set on a couple…. But for today I am allowing myself a pity party.

The good news is that I haven’t completely given up and even though I wussed out on any sort of long runs, I have been regularly running short distances, weight lifting and cross training so at least I do not feel like I am starting from scratch.  My mind and heart is back in this game (just not in time for Flower City Challenge unfortunately).

I’m trying not to beat myself up over it too much.

 

 

Leave a Reply

